BUMP OF CHICKEN has updated the release details for their new single “firefly” which is featured as the theme for Fuji TV drama series “Iki mo Dekinai Natsu” (Breathless Summer") that stars Emi Takei. The full track list and cover jacket has been revealed on the band’s 23rd single. “firefly” is offered in one Regular CD-only edition and will hit stores on September 12th. Updated release details follow.

Drama “Iki no Dekinai Natsu” follows the story of Tanizaki Rei (Emi Takei) who is an innocent 19 year old that only recently has learned that due to a Japanese law she is without a family registry, no legal record of her birth. As Tanizaki searches for the truth of her identity she meets an older man Kiyama Ryuichiro who also has a troubled past. The two form a strong bond and begin an unlikely love affair.


Iki mo Dekinai Natsu” airs starting July 10th Tuesdays 11pm on Fuji TV. More information is available at Fuji TV Official website (link at bottom of report).

BUMP OF CHICKEN has finished up the second part of their BUMP OF CHICKEN 2012 Tour ~ GOLD GLIDER TOUR ~ that ran 20 performances beginning on April 7th and ending with 4 performances at Tokyo Yoyogi National Stadium on July 3rd, 4th, 7th, and 8th and a final performance July 14th at Sekisui Heim Super Arena in Miyagi.


The first part of the tour ran 20 performances from December 5th 2011 to January 31st. The 40 performances of the tour were sold out and more than 200,000 saw BUMP OF CHICKEN live.

BUMP OF CHICKEN – “firefly” – release date September 12th 2012

Regular [CD] (¥1050)
1. firefly (theme song TV series “Iki mo Dekinai”)
2. Honto no Honto


Fuji TV “Iki mo Dekinai Natsu” Official website

BUMP OF CHICKEN Official website